Cymbalta

IMG_9421

Today is brought to you by the letter “C” and I choose for it to stand for “CYMBALTA” as part of the A to Z Blog Challenge.

My theme for this Challenge is depression and anxiety and all that goes with it.

I recently went through a horrible Cymbalta withdrawal.  You can read about it HERE. 

I had tapered off the Cymbalta while adding Zoloft and when I finally ran out of the Cymbalta, all hell broke loose.  If you are on Cymbalta and are thinking about switching medication, just be forewarned and you might want to read my aforementioned blog post on that matter.  medication

The reason I switched my depression medication is because it stopped working.  While being treated for my new found anxiety, my depression came back full force recently.  Cymbalta was working for a few years, kept the depression at bay for the most part but I guess your body gets used to the medication and a change is needed.

Cymbalta (duloxetine) is a selective serotonin and norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor antidepressant (SSNRI). Duloxetine affects chemicals in the brain that may become unbalanced and cause depression.

Cymbalta is used to treat major depressive order and general anxiety order in adults.  Cymbalta is also used in adults to treat fibromyalgia (a chronic pain disorder), or chronic muscle or joint pain (such as low back pain and osteoarthritis pain).  I noticed it’s mild pain fighting skills only when I stopped taking it.  It was an effective medication for awhile and it might work well for you but be careful when you stop taking Cymbalta, especially without tapering off gradually.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Cymbalta

  1. Hi!

    Great to meet another participant from the A to Z challenge who is blogging about mental health!! (My own blog is on cats and mental health). I haven’t taken Cymbalta yet (funny, it felt I’ve been taking a lot of psych meds, but I apparently didn’t try all…) I also had to change because my body was getting to used to my old medication.

    I’m glad I found your blog; I haven’t read a lot of blogs on mental health yet. I saw that there’s even a guild for mental health bloggers? I’m having visitors for Eastern, but I’ll have a closer look at your links when I’ve more time.

    A2Z challenge. http://www.whenthecatisaway.com Participant number 1431

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

