Lethargy

lethargy

Today is brought to you by the letter “L” and I choose for it to stand for “Lethargy” as part of the A to Z Blogging Challenge.

My theme for this Challenge is depression and anxiety and all that goes with it.

When I am in one of my depressive episodes, I know it is really bad when the lethargy sets in.  I lie in bed in the dark, both unable and unwilling to move.  My lack of appetite is partly due to the fact that my body perceives “getting up and making something to eat” as a tiresome process.  I lie there thinking I should eat something but it is just too much of a deal to make anything.  That would require some thought, dexterity, energy and patience- all of which I rarely possess when I am depressed.

Lethargy can be strangely soothing at times.  I think to myself that I don’t need to go anywhere, I can just stay wrapped up in the warm blanket of depression, tears flowing down my face as I lie paralyzed in my bed.  Forget the responsibilities, forget the errands, forget getting dressed and just be lethargic.

One thought on “Lethargy

Leave a Reply

