Medication

Medication

Today is brought to you by the letter “M” and I choose for it to stand for “Medication” as part of the A to Z Blogging Challenge.

My theme for this Challenge is depression and anxiety and all that goes with it.

I have been on a TON of different medications over the years for depression and anxiety.  Effexor, Luvox, Buspirone, Zoloft, Cymbalta, Wellbutrin, Cipralex, Abilify, Lorazapam, Clonazepam, Diazepam (there are a lot of PAMS) and the list goes on with more forgotten meds.  Recently I stopped taking Cymbalta and went through a bad withdrawal which you can read about on my blog post entitled, ” Cymbalta Withdrawal.”

My current Zoloft dose seems to be giving me really bad night sweats.  I have to change out of my wet pajamas in the middle of the night when I am woken up by the sound of my teeth chattering.  I am doing a lot of laundry these days!  I also have been getting junk food cravings. I want to change this medication but I just started it and it seems to be working.  The night sweats are just getting too much.  The problem is that once I find an anti depressant that works, after a few years it stops working.  It’s like your brain just gets used to the medication.

I sometimes feel like a walking pharmacy and it almost feels like I am being sanitized on the inside, with all this medication I am taking.  Every morning it is the same routine, drink my tea in bed while checking my emails and Facebook.  Then, I try and choke down a hand full of pills with last night’s stale leftover water.  Not sure why I never use the tea for this other than the fact I might gulp it down to quickly.  I like to enjoy my tea in bed or on the deck in the summer, without tainting it’s taste with that medicinal flavour.

My Pharmacy

My Pharmacy

4 thoughts on “Medication

  1. The joy of playing musical chairs with the pills. I quit Effexor cold turkey about 2.5 weeks ago (after being switched from wellbutrin and zoloft) and man that withdrawal was a bitch (as expected). Now on to two other meds that I can’t remember or pronounce.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Zoloft | My Depression And Anxiety Blog

Leave a Reply

