Overwhelmed

Overwhelmed

Today is brought to you by the letter “O” and I choose for it to stand for “OVERWHELMED” as part of the A to Z Blogging Challenge.

My theme for this Challenge is depression and anxiety and all that goes with it.

There have been so many times I have felt just utterly overwhelmed.  When my depression is at it’s worst, simple tasks become gargantuan.  Going to work, grocery shopping, making dinner and all while trying to keep up appearances.   It can be so tiring.  At those times, I just want to give up and curl into a ball in the comfort of my bed. overwhelmed2

In a recent depressive episode, I tried to make something to eat in the morning and my egg rolled off the counter top and broke on the floor.  This sent me back to my bed crying, without eating.  It was just too much, too overwhelming.  That is depression and it can be brutal.

I lost my coping skills long ago, almost 10 months ago when I had to go off work and onto short term disability.  I have yet to regain them and sometimes when I have too much planned or too many appointments, I get anxious and start feeling overwhelmed over the simplest tasks.  Brushing your teeth shouldn’t feel like a chore.

6 thoughts on “Overwhelmed

  1. It’s good to spread everything out and only do what you feel you can cope with. As a rule, I never have more than one extra thing on my daily agenda. Sometimes it feels and sounds ridiculous, but it is better than getting stressed out and only adding to an already complicated situation. Is it you who is photographing the words for your challenges?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Unkept | My Depression And Anxiety Blog

Leave a Reply

