Quack

Quack

Today is brought to you by the letter “Q” and I choose for it to stand for “QUACK” as part of the A to Z Blogging Challenge.

My theme for this Challenge is depression and anxiety and all that goes with it.

A “quack” is a “fraudulent or ignorant pretender to medical skill” or a person who pretends, professionally or publicly, to have skill or qualifications he or she does not possess.

Lately I have been very frustrated with my psychiatrist.  I frequently refer to him as a quack whenever I speak of him.  He is absolutely useless and doesn’t ask me very much.  If I am not talking, there is this awkward silence that just hangs over the room.  He’ll just stare at me, waiting for me to say something, it’s awful.  At the end of our twenty minute weekly session, he will ask me if I need any refills and that’s it.  No cognitive behaviour therapy or anything “doctorly” or therapeutic ever happens and the only reason I still see him is because of my insurance and I need prescriptions. Quack

This picture was taken in my backyard.  We have ducks visit our pool every Spring.  This little duck reminds me of my psychiatrist.  I should name him “Quack.”

5 thoughts on “Quack

  1. Pingback: Therapy | My Depression And Anxiety Blog

  2. Pingback: Vulnerable | My Depression And Anxiety Blog

Leave a Reply

